German Navigation Menu

Rückseitenschutz für Leinwandgemälde

Der Rückseitenschutz ist ein einfaches und wunderbar wirksames Mittel, um den Zustand von Gemälden zu schützen. In der Gemälderestaurierung ist er längst Standard und reduziert nachgewiesener Maßen die sichtbare Alterung. Die Installation von Rückseitenschutz kann problemlos von den Künstlern selbst durchgeführt werden. Ihre Vorteile sind vielfältig:

  • Schutz vor Aufprallschäden von hinten (Riss, Punktion, Verformung). Dies gilt nicht nur für den seltenen Fall, dass ein Gemälde z.B. gegen eine Tischkante fällt, sondern auch für die vielen Male, wenn Bilder in engen Atelierräumen bewegt werden und etwas die Leinwand von hinten berührt.
  • Fingerstöße ist eine weitere häufige Form der mechanischen Beschädigung, die sich vielleicht nicht sofort bemerkbar macht, aber Spannungen in den Leinwand-, Grundierung- und Farbschichten verursachen kann, die sich später zeigen können. Mit einem Rückseitenschutz besteht einfach keine Chance, beim Tragen von Gemälden die Finger zwischen den Keilrahmen und die Leinwand zu stecken.
  • Reduziert die Ansammlung von Staub, Wandschutt, Insekten, etc.
  • Puffert Feuchtigkeits- und Temperaturschwankungen (Tag-Nacht-Zyklen & Wand-Raum-Temperaturunterschiede), was das Risiko von Rissbildungen in den Farbschichten reduziert. Die Empfehlungen für die Art des Rückseitenschutzes variieren je nach Klimazone. Weitere Informationen finden Sie weiter unten, unter Luftfeuchtigkeit und Belüftung.
  • Reduziert Stöße und Vibrationen, besonders in großen Gemälden, die dazu neigen, beim Transport zu “flackern” oder hin und her zu schwenken. Wenn Gemälde fallen gelassen werden, reduziert der Rückseitenschutz (insbesondere bei der Befestigung an den Keilrahmen) die Rissbildung deutlich. Mehr zu Vibrationen und Rückseitenschutz finden Sie weiter unten in Gemäldetransport.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Praktiken, wenn es um das genaue Material, die Form und die Befestigungsart von Rückseitenschutz geht. Im Folgenden finden Sie einige einfache Optionen, die Künstler nutzen können, um ihre eigenen Werke zu schützen. Hervorzuheben ist, dass ein Rückseitenschutz zwar einen erheblichen Schutz bieten kann, aber keine magische Lösung ist und das vorsichtige Handhaben, gute Lagerung und Routineuntersuchungen sind dennoch empfehlenswert.

Materialien für Rückseitenschutz

Für den Rückseitenschutz können viele verschiedene Materialien verwendet werden. Sie sollten leicht, robust und zersetzungsfest sein. Schaumstoffplatten, gewellte Kunststoffplatten, Montagekarton, Waben- und Archivwellpappe können alle verwendet werden, obwohl Pappe zellulosefressende Insekten wie Silberfische anziehen könnte, insbesondere in feuchter Umgebung. Verbundwerkstoffe wie Dibond®, Acryl- oder Polycarbonatplatten sind schwerer, können aber bei Bedarf zusätzliche strukturelle Unterstützung bieten.

Rückseitenschutz anbringen

Der Rückseitenschutz kann direkt an der Rückseite eines Spannrahmens oder eines Bilderrahmens befestigt werden. Schrauben sind eleganter, stabiler und praktischer als Tackerklammern, da weniger von ihnen benötigt werden und das Entfernen und Wiederverwenden von Rückseitenplatten erleichtern. Zum Perforieren der Platte können Stechahle oder ähnliche Stifte verwendet werden. Dies erleichtert die Platzierung und Befestigung der Schrauben (Bild 1). Für Platten oder Kartons aus relativ weichen Materialien, ist es sinnvoll, Rosetten/Unterlegscheiben zu verwenden, damit die Schrauben nicht durch die Platte drücken (Bild 2). Für große Gemälde können zwei oder mehr einzelne Platten verwendet und an Querbalken des Spannrahmens befestigt werden. Mit Rosetten können zwei Platten gleichzeitig befestigt werden (Bild 3).

scre washers for attaching backing board

Bild 2: Rosetten sorgen dafür, dass die Schrauben nicht durch die Schaumstoffplatte schießen.

stitching awls to perforate backing boards before attaching with screws.

Bild 1: Mit einem Stechahl wird eine 4mm dicke Schaumstoffplatte vorgestochen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Srew washer holding two backing boards.

Bild 3: Eine Schraube mit Rosette hält zwei Rückseitenschutzplatten.

Aufhänger können über dem Rückseitenschutz angebracht werden, jedoch ist es auch möglich Löcher in den Rückseitenschutz zu schneiden (Bild 4).

hangers on backing boacht

Bild 4: Bilderhacken können auf dem Rückseitenschutz, oder in extra dafür geschnittene Aussparungen platziert werden.

Einige Keilrahmen haben Stufenprofile mit einer in die Innenkante eingearbeiteten Nut. Dies macht es einfach, eine Trägerplatte unterzubringen, ohne die Tiefe des Gemäldes zu erhöhen, wodurch es weiter von der Wand lehnt und einigen Künstlern vielleicht nicht gefällt. Insbesondere Keilrahmen mit T-Profilen und einige Heavy-Duty-Spannrahmen haben Stufenprofile (Bild 5). Beispiele dafür sind die Creative Mark Probar Stretchers, die Heavy Duty Spannrahmen von John Annesley Company und Spannrahmen von Jack Richeson & Co., sowie Upper Canada Stretchers. Bei Verwendung von herkömmlichen Keilrahmen kann man eine 3 mm tiefe und ca. 5 mm breite Aussparung in die Rückseite eines Keilrahmens fräsen, um den Rückseitenschutz plan unterzubringen.

 

Image 2: Cross-section of a stretcher with T-Shaped Profile and Backing Board.

Image 5: Cross-section of a stretcher with T-Shaped Profile and Backing Board.

 

Feuchtigkeit und Belüftung

Die genaue Form und das ideale Material für Trägerplatten hängt vor allem von den Raumklima ab, in dem das Bild leben wird.

In kalten Klimazonen ist die trockene Luft in beheizten Räumen problematisch. Niedrige Luftfeuchtigkeit führt zu erhöhter Spannung und Versteifung in Grundierung- und Farbschichten, wohingegen sich die Leinwände entspannen. Daher ist es wichtig, den Rückseitenschutz gut abzudichten, sodass keine trockene Luft hinter die Leinwand eindringt. Das Canadian Institute for Conservation empfiehlt die Verwendung von Schaumstoffstreifen zwischen Keilrahmen und Trägerplatte, um Luftspalten zu vermeiden (gut abgedichteter Rückseitenschutz erzeugt auch ein besseres Luftpolster und damit eine dämpfende Wirkung während Transporten).

Image 3: A 3.8 mm thick DISPA ® backing board ist cut to size and attached to the verso of stretcher bars. The corners of the board are cut off to allow for ventilation.

Image 6: A 3.8 mm thick DISPA ® backing board is cut to size and attached to the verso of stretcher bars. The corners of the board are cut off to allow for ventilation.

In feuchten Klimazonen ist das Auftreten von Schimmelpilz das größte Problem. Dies wird problematisch bei relativer Luftfeuchtigkeit von über 65%. Normalerweise ist die Luft in der Nacht feuchter als am Tag. Selbst wenn die Luftfeuchtigkeit nachts weit über 65 % steigt, kann das noch in Ordnung sein, solange der Raum hinter dem Gemälde tagsüber trocknen kann, so dass kein Schimmel entsteht. Damit die Feuchtigkeit entweichen kann, muss der Rückseitenschutz über ausreichend große Lüftungsöffnungen verfügen. Indem man die Ecken eines Rückseitenkartons abschneidet, kann man auf einfache Art für Belüftung zu sorgen (Bild 6). Netze können über den Lüftungsöffnungen angebracht werden, um Insekten und Schmutz fernzuhalten, oder in sehr feuchten Klimazonen können starre Rückseitenkartons/platten komplett mit Netzen ausgetauscht werden.

In gemäßigten Klimazonen ist eine Vielzahl von Praktiken üblich und möglich, obwohl Feuchtigkeit und Schimmel auch hier berücksichtigt werden müssen. Hauswände, insbesondere Außenwände oder schattige Wände, sind in der Regel kühler als die jeweiligen Raumtemperaturen. Dies führt zu einem feuchteren Klima direkt hinter einem Gemälde. Der Rückseitenschutz hilft, die kühleren Wandtemperaturen zu isolieren und kann so Schimmelbildung verhindern.

Gemäldetransport

Beim Transport von Gemälden auf holprigen Straßen sind diese schädlichen Stößen und Vibrationen ausgesetzt. Nun schwingt jedes Material mit seiner eigenen Frequenz, wenn es einer bestimmten Bewegung ausgesetzt ist. Wenn Rückseitenkartons/platten eine Resonanzschwingung erzeugen, kann dies dafür sorgen dass ein Gemälde mehr und nicht zu weniger flackert. Es wurde festgestellt, dass dünnere Platten und Kartons (getestet wurden 3 mm Wellpappe, Polyurethan-Hartschaumplatte und Polycarbonat Stegplatten) dazu neigen, Vibrationen bei typischen LKW-Transportfrequenzen zu erhöhen, während stabilere Wellpappe (4,5 mm und besser noch 8 mm) sowie Wabenkarton die Vibrationen von Gemälden deutlich dämpfen (siehe http://www.gemaeldetransport.ch/kti/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Baeschlin_ICOM-CC_2011.pdf).

Das kann relevant sein für diejenigen, die Gemälde betreuen die viel unterwegs sind. Die Mehrheit aller Gemälde bleibt jedoch an einem Ort, oder reist nur wenige Male. Für diese „Hausgemälde“ bietet ein Rückseitenschutz viel, um ihren Zustand zu erhalten, unabhängig von der Eigenfrequenz (Eigenfrequenz eines Systems) der Trägermaterialien während des Transports.

Für Fragen stehen wir Ihnen wie gewohnt unter EUhelp@goldenpaints.com zur Verfügung oder nutzen Sie unsere Kontaktformulare: https://www.goldenpaints.com/product_support.

 

No comments yet.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

*

Made by Golden Artist Colors, Inc.

css.php

Navigation

Backing Boards for Canvas Paintings

Backing boards are simple and wonderfully effective at protecting the condition of paintings. They are standard in painting conservation and have proven to significantly reduce visible aging. Installing backing boards can easily be done by artists themselves. Their benefits are many:

  • Protection to impact damage from behind (tear, puncture, deformation). This is not just for the rare case that a painting falls against a table edge, for instance, but for the many times when paintings are moved around in tight studio spaces and something ends up touching the canvas from the reverse.
  • Finger poking is another common form of mechanical damage, which might not show right away but can cause stresses in the canvas, ground and paint layers, which could show further down the line. With a backing board, there is simply no chance of sticking fingers in-between the stretcher and canvas when carrying paintings.
  • Reduces the accumulation of dust, wall debris, insects, etc.
  • Buffers fluctuations in humidity and temperature (day-night cycles & wall-room temperature differences), which reduces the risk of cracking paint layers. Recommendations for the type of backing board vary, depending on the overall local climate. More details below in Humidity and Ventilation.
  • Reduces shocks and vibrations, especially in large paintings, which tend to ‘flag’ or bounce back and forth while being transported. When paintings are dropped, backing boards (particularly when attached to the stretchers) significantly reduce paint cracking. More on vibrations and backing boards below in Paintings in Transit.

There is a wide range of practices when it comes to the exact material, form, and attachment method for backing boards. What follows are a couple of simple options that artists can use to protect their own works. What should be stressed is that, although backing boards can provide significant protection, they are not a magical fix and careful handling, good storage and routine check-ups are still recommended.

Materials for Backing Boards

Many different materials can be used for backing boards. They should be lightweight, sturdy and resistant to degradation. Foam boards, corrugated plastic sheeting, mounting boards, honeycomb and archival corrugated cardboard can all be used, although, cardboard might attract cellulose eating insects like silverfish, especially in humid environments. Composite materials such as Dibond®, acrylic or polycarbonate sheets are heavier but can provide additional structural support, if needed.

Attaching Backing Boards

Backing boards can be attached directly to the back of a stretcher or frame. Screws are more elegant, stable and practical than staples, because fewer of them are needed and they make removing and reusing backing boards easier. Stiching awls or similar pins can be used to perforate the board. This helps to place and attach the screws (Image 1). Since most backing boards are made from relatively soft materials, it helps to use screw washers, so that the screws do not push through the board (Image 2). For large paintings, two or more individual boards can be used and attached to stretcher cross bars. With screw washers two boards can be affixed a the same time (Image 3).

scre washers for attaching backing board

Image 2: Screw washers prevent the screws from pushing through the foam board.

stitching awls to perforate backing boards before attaching with screws.

Image 1: A stitching awl is used to make holes in a 4mm foam board before it is attached with screws.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Srew washer holding two backing boards.

Image 3: A screw and screw washer holding two backing boards.

Hangers can be attached on top of backing boards, but cutting out holes for the hanging systems is possible too (Image 4).

hangers on backing boacht

Image 4: Picture hangers can be placed on top of  backing boards or into specifically cut-out holes.

Some stretchers have stepped profiles with a groove cut into the inner edge. This makes it easy to accommodate a backing board without increasing the depth of the painting and making it stand out further from the wall, which some artists might dislike. Particularly, stretchers with T-profiles and some Heavy-Duty stretchers have stepped profiles (Image 5). Examples would be the Creative Mark Probar Stretchers, the Heavy Duty stretchers by John Annesley Company, and stretchers from Jack Richeson & Co., as well as Upper Canada Stretchers. When using regular stretchers, one can mill a 3 mm deep and about 5 mm wide recess into the reverse of a stretcher to fit in a backing board.

Image 2: Cross-section of a stretcher with T-Shaped Profile and Backing Board.

Image 5: Cross-section of a stretcher with T-Shaped Profile and Backing Board.

 

Humidity and Ventilation

The exact shape and ideal material for backing boards depends mostly on the environmental conditions of the space where the painting will live.

In cold climates the dry air of heated rooms is problematic. Low humidity causes increased tension and stiffening in ground and paint layers, while canvases relax. Therefore, it is important to seal the backing board well to keep the dry air out from behind the painting. The Canadian Institute for Conservation recommends using foam strips in between stretcher bars and the backing board to prevent air gaps (well sealed backing boards also create a better air cushion and thus dampening effect during travel).

In humid climates mold growth is the biggest concern. Relative humidity over 65% becomes risky.

Image 3: A 3.8 mm thick DISPA ® backing board ist cut to size and attached to the verso of stretcher bars. The corners of the board are cut off to allow for ventilation.

Image 6: A 3.8 mm thick DISPA ® backing board is cut to size and attached to the verso of stretcher bars. The corners of the board are cut off to allow for ventilation.

Usually, air is more humid during the night than it is during the day. Even if the humidity rises way above 65% at night, that can be okay, as long as the space behind a painting can dry during the day, so that mold cannot grow. To allow the moisture to escape, backing boards must have sufficiently big ventilation holes. Cutting off the corners of a backing board is an easy way to provide ventilation (Image 6). Screens can be placed over the vent holes to keep insects and dirt out, or, in very humid climates, rigid backing boards can be replaced altogether with screens.

In temperate climates a wide range of practices are common and possible (cut corners/fully covering boards/type of material), although, humidity and mold still have to be considered. House walls, especially masonry walls, or shaded walls, tend to be cooler than the respective room temperatures. This leads to a more humid environment directly behind a painting. Backing boards help to insulate the cooler wall temperatures and thus can prevent mold growth.

Paintings in Transit

Transporting paintings on bumpy roads exposes them to damaging shock and vibration. Now, each material vibrates at its own frequency when exposed to certain movement. When backing boards create a resonance vibration with a painting, more, rather than less flapping of the canvas may be the result. It was found that thinner backing board materials (tested were 3 mm corrugated cardboard, polyurethane hard foam core board, and polycarbonate multiwall board) tend to increase vibrations at typical truck-transportation frequencies, while more sturdy corrugated cardboard (4.5 mm and better yet 8 mm), as well as honeycomb cardboard significantly dampen the vibrations of paintings (see http://www.gemaeldetransport.ch/kti/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Baeschlin_ICOM-CC_2011.pdf).

This is relevant to know for those who care for paintings which travel a lot. The vast majority of paintings out there, however, remain where they are or travel only a few times during their lifetimes. For those stay-home paintings, backing boards do a lot to conserve their condition, regardless of the inherent so called eigenfrequency (natural frequency of a system) of the backing materials during transit.

As usual, for questions feel free to reach out to help@goldenpaints.com or EUhelp@goldenpaints.com or use our contact forms: https://www.goldenpaints.com/product_support.

7 Responses to Backing Boards for Canvas Paintings

  1. VThomson July 30, 2019 at 9:27 am #

    Since we don’t know where collectors live or will live and what environment the paintings will be displayed in, it doesn’t appear to be a good idea to attach a backing board and doing so may create problems.

  2. Marc July 30, 2019 at 4:53 pm #

    Nice to know I haven’t been going wrong with the use of corrugated plastic board.

    One option I’ve seen used by framers is to put a viewing widow of stiff transparent plastic (mylar?) in the backing-board. So that a signature signed on the reverse of the canvas is still visible.

    • Mirjam Hintz August 1, 2019 at 4:45 am #

      Hi Marc,

      thank you for mentioning viewing holes. They are indeed a great and wonderfully simple way to make signatures visible.

  3. Lynn Lawson July 31, 2019 at 12:25 pm #

    I never knew I could use foam board. I always used brown paper. Is the board I buy at WalMart or any hobby store okay to use or are Golden’s boards the only ones that will stand up to this? Thanks for the great tip!

    • Mirjam Hintz August 1, 2019 at 4:19 am #

      Hello Lynn,

      thank you for your comment. Golden does not make any boards and we also have not tested different brands. I am not familiar with the foam boards from Wallmart, but would think that they are not archival and might need to be exchanged after a couple of years. There is also the aspect of pH. However, the foam boards from Walmart are probably not more acidic than brown paper. Better would be foamcore boards with acid free paper or plastic coatings. Fome-Cor® Acid Free or Coroplast® Archival grade are relatively inexpensive options.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pack and Ship Unframed Paintings with Cardboard Corners and Rails | Just Paint - November 13, 2019

    […] as covers on top of the corner protection (Image 11). If the painting has no backing board (see Backing Boards for Canvas Paintings), then another cardboard sheet can be placed underneath the painting. Now the painting can be […]

Leave a Reply

*

Made by Golden Artist Colors, Inc.

css.php